What to Do After a Car Accident in MA

>>What to Do After a Car Accident in MA

I Was Injured in a Car Accident Now What?

Every day hundreds of people are involved in auto accidents in the state of Massachusetts, and many of those accidents can result in minor or major injuries. Being hurt in a car accident can be a devastating and will not only affect you but your entire family.

The cost of medical expenses can escalate well into the thousands. If you are a victim as a result of a car accident, knowing what to do after the accident can help you start the process of receiving the proper compensation for your injuries. There will be medical bills, car repairs, lost wages and more. The need for a qualified car accident attorney is vital.

Finding out who is at fault

Determining fault is the first step in figuring out how much you might recover. If you feel that you share no fault in the accident, it’s a good idea to get a detailed police report of the accident. This request will be granted and can be used to prove your case. Often times, fines and charges will be brought against the at fault party; getting a copy of those will give you the information you need to fight your case.

Seek immediate legal advice and don’t try to do it yourself

When dealing with a case of negligence, even if you feel you can prove your case in court, it’s not a very wise choice. Defense lawyers and insurance companies have years of experience fighting these cases and will use their knowledge against you. Hiring a personal injury lawyer of your own will help you have the upper hand while in the court room.

Document everything that you pay for out of pocket

If you pay any out of pocket money on rental cars, car repair or medical bills that resulted from the accident, keep that information in a safe place. Having clear records of what it cost you to recover from the accident will make it easier to determine the amount of compensation you will be awarded. No matter how small the amount of the bill, make sure to document it because small amounts can add up quickly.

Know your state laws and how they work

In Massachusetts you are strictly limited to only 3 years to file your claim after an accident has occurred. Many of you may think that this is ample time to file, but what if you were only slightly injured in the accident but over the years the injury becomes worse? So, promptly filing your claim is the best decision you could make because you never know what the future might hold.

Massachusetts has no-fault car insurance rules which can limit the amount you receive. Drivers who have been injured in an accident can only file claims against the at-fault driver when one of the following requirements at met. First, the injured party has to have at least $2,000 or more in medical expenses. The second requirement is the injured party has extensive or permanent injuries resulting from the accident. Knowing these laws will help you determine how much you can recover.

2019-01-21T04:28:15+00:00

Contact Form

Contact Info

25 Central Street Lowell, MA 01852

Phone: 1.978.275.1919

Web: ToddBeauregardLaw.Com