DUI Lawyer for Massachusetts
The Law Office of Todd D. Beauregard has is an experienced criminal defense & DUI attorney’s in Lowell Massachusetts. The law firm defends clients against the criminal charge of DUI and operating under the influence in Massachusetts.
If you have been arrested for DUI in Massachusetts, the consequences can be both personally and professionally devastating. Even a conviction for a 1st offense can result in jail time, a heavy fine, and lengthy license suspension. A DUI arrest can happen to anyone. You need to have the tough questions answered, and your anxieties addressed.
Operating under the influence, or DUI, is a very serious offense in Lowell Massachusetts. Being charged with DUI can seriously impact your life in a number of ways. Regardless of the circumstances, anyone charged with a DUI in Massachusetts has rights and protections under the law. Knowing those rights and having a dedicated and skilled attorney fighting to protect those rights can make a massive difference in the outcome of your case. If you have been charged with a DUI in Massachusetts, you need an attorney from Todd D. Beauregard, P.C., on your side every step of the way.
It is vital that anyone charged understands the possible penalties and sentences that can be handed down as a result of a DUI charge.
DUI Penalties in Lowell MA
For a 1st offense—Jail time of up to 30 months, a fine of $500 to $5,000, a one year license suspension, and possible enrollment in an alcohol treatment or education program.
2nd offense—30 days to 30 months in jail, a fine of $600 to $10,000, two year license suspension, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
3rd offense—150 days to five years in jail, a fine of $1,000 to $15,000, eight year license suspension, and the installation of an ignition interlock device.
4th and 5th offenses—one to five years in jail, fines ranging from up to $25,000 to $50,000, a license suspension of ten years to permanent loss of license.
There are circumstances under which any of the penalties can increase greatly. This is especially true if the charge is elevated to an aggravated DUI. A DUI can be upgraded to an aggravated charge if there was a child under the age of 12 in the vehicle, if there was an accident resulting in bodily harm or death, or if a person’s blood alcohol content was considered extremely high. If the charged is upgraded to aggravated, there may be a marked increase in fines, jail time, and time of license suspension.
Whether it is a first time offense or an aggravated 5th offense, anyone charged in Massachusetts has the right to legal counsel who will vigorously fight on his or her behalf. At Todd D. Beauregard, P.C., we understand each case is different and no DUI situation is as cut-and-dry as it may seem. We take the time to investigate the circumstances and the legality of any evidence the prosecution may plan to use. Our firm also dedicates the time to pursuing alternative penalties that may lessen the impact a charge can have on your wallet, reputation, or freedom. Any DUI charge can leave a lasting mark on your family, career, and future in any number of ways. We know the seriousness of these consequences and what all may be at stake.
Aggressive DUI Defense!
You should never accept a DUI charge at face value and simply wait for a judgment to be handed down in court. Let our firm explore the case and your options. Having a skilled, experienced, and compassionate attorney on your side can make a huge difference in the outcome of your case. Let us hear the details of your DUI case. Then, let us fight to protect your rights so you can begin to move forward from a DUI charge.
We’d love to give your case the individualized attention it deserves.
For a Free Consultation Call – 978-275-1919